Jane Hirshfield

Workshop Leader

Jane Hirshfield

Jane Hirshfield’s nine poetry books include "Ledger" (March, 2020); "The Beauty", long-listed for the 2015 National Book Award; "Given Sugar, Given Salt", a finalist for the 2001 National Book Critics Circle Award; and "After", short-listed for England’s T.S. Eliot Award and named a “best book of 2006” by The Washington Post, The San Francisco Chronicle, and England’s Financial Times. Her two collections of essays, "Nine Gates: Entering the Mind of Poetry" (1997) and "Ten Windows: How Great Poems Transform the World" (2015), have become classics in their field, as have her four books collecting and co-translating the work of world poets from the past: "The Ink Dark Moon: Love Poems by Ono no Komachi and Izumi Shikibu, Women of the Ancient Court of Japan"; "Women in Praise of the Sacred: 43 Centuries of Spiritual Poetry by Women"; "Mirabai: Ecstatic Poems"; and "The Heart of Haiku, on Matsuo Basho", named an Amazon Best Book of 2011. Jane’s work appears in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The Times Literary Supplement, The New York Review of Books, Poetry, and ten editions of The Best American Poetry. In 2004, she was awarded the 70th Academy Fellowship for distinguished poetic achievement by The Academy of American Poets, an honor formerly held by such poets as Robert Frost, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, and Elizabeth Bishop. In 2012, she was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. In 2017, in conjunction with reading to an estimated 50,000 people on the Washington Mall at the first March For Science, she co-founded Poets For Science, housed with the Wick Poetry Center at Kent State University. In 2019, she was elected into the American Academy of Arts and Science.

The Gathering Room


The Gathering Room

More Info

Read More


Oct 24 2021


3:00 pm - 6:00 pm



Jane Hirshfield: Poetry &: An Online Afternoon Poetry Masterclass

To read more and to register for this event, click here.